Common Core State Standards » What is Common Core?

What is Common Core?

The goal of Common Core is to prepare all students to be ready for college and careers. Forty-five states and the District of Columbia have adopted the Common Core State Standards (CCSS), including California. The standards articulate what students are expected to learn, beginning with kindergarten and continuing at every level, through the 12th grade.
Duarte Unified School District has provided our teachers several professional development opportunties on the new standards and will continue to offer resources and support during this transition. In this first phase of implementation, our teachers and staff are looking at what is different about the Common Core and how to integrate the positive changes into their teaching practices.

What’s new about the Common Core?
  • Fewer standards to teach at each grade level in favor of greater depth;
  • Literacy skills taught across subject areas;
  • Providing content-rich non-fiction and academic language;
  • Math standards as an extension of prior learning;
  • The integration of math in science and technical subject areas;
  • Sharing of results and best practices across the nation.